44th IFFI to Focus on North Eastern Cinema

Ad Blocker Detected

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.

The 44th International Film Festival of India 2013 will for the first time ever to focus on cinema from the northeastern states. There will be a special northeast package at 44th IFFI in Panaji, which will run from November 20-30, named “Focus: North East”.

International Film Festival of India 2013

The section will be inaugurated on November 22 with a special opening ceremony. There will also be a special closing ceremony on November 27, sources in the Information and Broadcasting Ministry said. The section will open with a Mizo film entitled ‘Khwalung Run’ by Mapuia Chawngthu while ‘Aideu’, an Assamese film by Arup Manna, based on the life of Aideu Handique, the first Assamese female actor, will close the section.A total of 23 films from the northeast in the section will be screened, including “Ek Pal” as a special homage to its producer Hemendra Prasad Barooah. The North-East focus is a specially curated section by Utpal Borpujari, an award-winning film critic and film-maker.

The opening ceremony guests include Bollywood actors from Assam Seema Biswas and Adil Hussain and there will be a special performance by Naga folk fusion band Purple Fusion. In the musical section on Indian cinema, Bhupen Hazarika’s “Chameli Memsab”, which had won the National Award for Best Music in 1975, will be screened.

International Film Festival of India 2013 to Focus on North east

On the otherhand, 44th edition of International Film Festival of India (IFFI) will screen 15 Oscar-nominated films from across the world.

Veteran actress Waheeda Rehman will be conferred the inaugural Centenary Award for Indian Film Personality of the Year at the festival.  The lifetime achievement award will be given to Czech filmmaker Jiri Menzel during the inauguration tomorrow.

Hollywood actress Susan Sarandon will be the chief guest at the inaugural function, which will be attended by Union Information and Broadcasting Minister Manish Tewari, veteran actors, including Kamal Haasan and Rekha, singer Asha Bhonsle and Iranian filmmaker Majid Majidi.


Leave a Reply