Political Structure of Assam

Ad Blocker Detected

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.

The Government of Assam is the provincial governing authority of the state of Assam. It consists of the Governor as the head of the state, who is nominated by the President of India. The head of government is the Chief Minister, who is the leader of the group that commands a majority in the 126-membered unicameral Assam Assembly. The present Governor and Chief Minister of Assam are Janaki Ballav Patnaik and Tarun Gogoi respectively.

The Assam Assembly is elected by universal adult suffrage for a period of maximum 5 years. The Chief Minister is assisted by a Council of Ministers that he nominates, the size of which is restricted. The Assam legislative structure is unicameral and consists of the 126-member Assam Assembly. Members are elected for a period of 5 years. The Assam Assembly is presided over by the Speaker, who is generally a member of the ruling party. Major political parties of Assam are Indian National Congress, Bharatiya Janata Party, Asom Gana Parishad, Nationalist Congress Party, Communist Party of India, AIUDF, BPPF, etc.

The High Court is the highest seat of judiciary in Assam and Justice A K Goel is the acting Chief Justice of the Guwahati High Court. The Chief Justice of Assam works with the support and aid of 22 judges, whose offices are sited in the Guwahati High Court and supervise the workings of the state’s judiciary.

Leave a Reply